top of page

The Buzz on Mission San Jose

If you’ve heard of San Antonio, you’ve heard of the San Antonio Missions. No, not the baseball team, but the historical sites that started our city. There are five missions in San Antonio: Mission San Antonio de Valero (aka the Alamo), Mission Concepcion, Mission San Juan, Mission Espada, And Mission San Juan.

Located in Southside San Antonio, Mission San Jose was built in 1720 after the Alamo reached its capacity. San Jose was named after the then governor of the Province of Coahuila and Texas, Saint Joseph and the Marqués de San Miguel de Aguayo. Due to its size, it became known as “The Queen of the Missions.”

Today, the mission attracts thousands of visitors to San Antonio. Visitors can walk the grounds and even attend mass in Mission San Jose’s beautiful church. For times please click here.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page